How Do I Obtain My Alabama Crash Report?

Have you been involved in a car accident in Alabama? Does the insurance company keep requesting more information about your accident for their investigation? Are you unsure of where to find a copy of your official Alabama Uniform Traffic Accident Report? If you answered yes to any of these questions, we’re here to help.

Obtaining a crash report through local law enforcement agencies can be arduous. They’ll charge you an unnecessary fee to recover legal information that’s rightfully yours. We don’t think that’s right, so we have made the process simple, quick, and 100% free of charge.

Fill out the short questionnaire regarding your crash, and we’ll recover a copy of your official accident report at absolutely no cost to you!

Filing an Accident Report in Alabama 

When you’re involved in an Alabama car crash, contacting law enforcement is one of the first things you should do, second only to checking on the wellbeing of everyone involved. Once an officer arrives on the scene, they’ll record the specific details of your accident, such as:

  • The precise location of the crash, including coordinates and cross streets
  • Identities and contact information for those involved
  • Vehicle information, such as license plate and VIN numbers
  • The extent of the damages or injuries sustained in the wreck
  • Details of any fatalities
  • Narrative and diagrams of the crash
  • Road conditions
  • Commercial vehicle information (if applicable)

After the officer completes their report, it will be filed with their local jurisdiction. Reports are typically available to the public within ten days of the accident. 

what happens once an officer takes a report?

When the responding officer has enough information to file an accident report, they will do so immediately. 

If you were on a state highway or interstate and a trooper investigated the collision, you would have to wait at least 14 days to request a copy from the Arizona Department of Public Safety.

If you were in an accident that occurred on a city, town, or county road, you would have to request the report from the law enforcement agency in that jurisdiction. For example, the Maricopa County Sheriff’s Office provides a copy of the report within 7 to 14 days.

The Arizona Department of Public Safety charges $9 to mail, email, or fax it. If you want it on a CD, the fee is $10.

Many sheriff’s offices and local police departments allow you to purchase a copy of your crash report online, but there is a $5 report fee plus a convenience fee. is Arizona’s official site for obtaining a certified copy of your accident report 100% free of charge. All you have to do is request a copy of your report here, and we’ll deliver your copy immediately once it is available. 

While obtaining a copy of your report through the state’s website is possible, these entities charge fees for delivering your report.  

We don’t think that you should ever have to pay for information that rightfully belongs to you. We also understand that you often have other expenses to deal with after a crash and don’t want to be nickel-and-dimed for something like a crash report.

This is why we won’t ask you to pay a single penny for your official state-certified crash report. 

Ready for your FREE Crash report?

Getting a copy of your accident report has never been easier. Get yours now!

Common Questions about obtaining an Alabama crash report

Most Alabama car accident reports can be recovered from the local law enforcement agency for a processing fee of $17.00. But that’s not your only option. You can receive a completely FREE copy of your official crash report from the comfort of your own home. Click HERE to get started!

You can file your own accident report with local law enforcement if an officer doesn’t respond to your crash. Unfortunately, this won’t carry the same weight during the claims process as an official report filed by a law enforcement officer. That’s why you should always contact the police after a crash, no matter how minor.

If an accident report is not filed after your crash, you can still file a claim with your insurance company. However, without an official record of what took place, it’s unlikely that you will receive the settlement you hope for. Your insurance rates could go up, too.

You can purchase your crash report using a credit card by calling the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency at (334) 242-4241. If you’d rather not pay or deal with a government hotline, you can get a completely FREE copy of your official crash report right here. 

Yes, you can request a copy of your official crash report by going to the local Driver License Reinstatement Office. But you don’t have to. You can request a free copy of your report from the comfort of your own home. Click here to get started!

Ready for Your Free Alabama Accident Report?

Being involved in a car crash in Alabama is never easy. Our goal is to make obtaining your official Alabama Uniform Traffic Accident report as quick and painless as possible. Simply complete the brief questionnaire about your accident, and we will do the rest for you!